AHL Affiliations

AHL Affiliations

These are the American Hockey League teams listed with their parent clubs in order by the amount of years they have been affiliated with said NHL team on a consecutive (***) basis through the 2015-16 season. This list also contains the Calder Cups won by the AHL team during such affiliation. See the below footnotes about this list.

Team NHL Affiliate Years w/NHL Team Ownership Cup Win
Providence Bruins Bruins 24 Private 1999
Hartford Wolfpack Rangers 19 NHL 2000
WBS Penguins Penguins 17 NHL
Bridgeport Soundtigers Islanders 15 NHL
Milwaukee Admirals * Predators 15 Private
Binghamton Senators Senators 14 Private  2011
Grand Rapids Griffins Red Wings 14 Private 2013
Hershey Bears Capitals 11 Private 06, 09, 10
Toronto Marlies Maple Leafs 11 NHL
Manitoba Moose *** Jets 11 NHL
Rockford Icehogs Blackhawks 9 Private
Texas Stars ** Stars 7 NHL  2014
Albany Devils Devils 6 NHL
Charlotte Checkers Hurricanes 6 Private
Rochester Americans Sabres 5 NHL
Syracuse Crunch Lightning 4 Private
Chicago Wolves Blues 3 Private
Iowa Wild Wild 3 NHL
Utica Comets Canucks 3 NHL
LV Phantoms Flyers 2 Private
Bakersfield Condors Oilers 1 NHL
Lake Erie Monsters Blue Jackets 1 Private
Ontario Reign Kings 1 NHL
Portland Pirates Panthers 1 Private
San Antonio Rampage Avalanche 1 Private
San Diego Gulls Ducks 1 NHL
San Jose Barracuda Sharks 1 NHL
Springfield Falcons Coyotes 1 Private
St. Johns Icecaps Canadiens 1 NHL
Stockton Heat Flames 1 NHL

* The Milwaukee Admirals have been affiliated with the Nashville Predators since 1998 making their 3 years in the IHL plus the 15 years in the AHL actually a 18 years total which would rank the team 3rd. Because we are looking solely at AHL affiliations and the AHL extends back before 2001 when the IHL merged with the AHL, we decided to leave those 3 years off but wanted to make a footnote.

** Though we listed the Texas Stars as NHL owned, the teams first 5 years were privately owned and it should be noted that the teams Calder Cup win was during the duration when the team was not owned by the Dallas Stars.

*** The Manitoba Moose return this season and because the franchise that is owned by the Winnipeg Jets (True North), moved such franchise to St. John’s for 4 seasons and now back to Manitoba, we are including the first 10 years, but not including the St. John’s years. 

Comments are closed.