Clarity on the American Hockey League playoff roster eligibility

There has been so much confusion this season with the announcement earlier in 2013 that the American Hockey League & National Hockey League was doing away with AHL Clear Day Rosters after the new CBA was formed.

With that being said here is what we have learned after the last 24 hours about how the AHL playoff rosters will be determined.

  • Any player on an AHL roster at the Trade Deadline Day at 3 PM yesterday will be eligible for the playoff roster for the respective teams.
  • AHL teams can make AHL-based trades, loans or sign ATO’s up to April 10th & those players will be eligible for that team’s playoff roster.
  • Lastly, there is still a limit on recall moves to 4 but the new CBA has added now 3 recall moves for the playoffs.
  • Playoff rosters will now be announced on Monday, April 22nd, the day after the final game of the season. In the past, the “Clear Day” roster was released within a couple days of the Trade Deadline day being over.
  • Below is the list of players that were “paper transaction-ed, MAKING the player still eligible for the AHL playoffs, as per the AHL Transaction page on the AHL’s website: (Though at the point of this article, I have not gotten official word on Penguins D-Man Simon Despres. He’s not on the AHL transaction page, however Jonathan Bombulie states here that he was paper transaction-ed)

Abbottsford – None

Adirondack – G Cal Heeter, D Erik Gustafsson, D Oliver Lauidsen, LW Tye McGinn

Albany – None

Binghamton  – LW Mike Hoffman, D Eric Gryba

Bridgeport – None

Charlotte – C Riley Nash

Chicago – RW Nicklas Jensen

Connecticut – D John Moore, C J.T. Miller

Grand Rapids – None

Hamilton – None

Hershey – D Steve Olesky

Houston – None

Lake Erie – None

Manchester – None

Milwaukee – D Victor Bartley, RW Taylor Beck

Norfolk – None

Oklahoma – C Anton Lander

Peoria – G Jake Allen, C Adam Cracknell

Portland – None

Providence – D Matt Bartkowski, RW Jordan Caron

Rochester – D Mark Pysyk, C Luke Adam, RW Brian Flynn

Rockford – None

San Antonio – None

Springfield – D Dalton Prout, RW Cam Atkinson, C Ryan Johansen

St. John’s – None

Syracuse – C Tyler Johnson, RW Richard Panik, D Radko Gudas

Texas – LW Matt Fraser, RW Alex Chiasson

Toronto – LW Ryan Hamilton

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton – None

Worcester – D Matt Tennyson

Bookmark the permalink.
Bob Howard

About Bob Howard

Owner/Host of the Power Play Post Show for 10 + years. Credentialed media member in Binghamton with the B-Sens. I have also done color commentary on the B-Sens & Manchester Monarchs radio broadcasts.

Comments are closed.